Book Review: “Secondhand Souls” by Christopher Moore

Secondhand Souls by Christopher Moore

Christopher Moore’s latest novel is a sequel to A Dirty Job (2006). He treats us to the San Francisco that only certain people can see, full of magic and supernatural danger. On any day SF is weird, but now things seem to be so not under control, what with the underworld rising and the balance of dark and light apparently in flux.

Moore has written more than a dozen novels, each goofy and gently humane and beautifully funny. If you haven’t read all of them, go to the library and read them.

If I tried to tell you the bare facts of this story, it would sound dark and terrible. But that would be misleading because the strange crew of characters are truly lovable, the weirdness is just normal, and its all joyful and very funny.

For fans of San Francisco, Moore is deeply attached to the history of the city, as well as its mystical secrets. Many of the characters and events in this book are archetypes from the life of the city, and it is interesting to speculate on the question of which parts of these stories are fictionalized autobiography. We have our suspicions.

I admire his writing, it is deceptively simple, cheerfully strange, and funny without being stupid. Each character is unique (ain’t that the point?), in that SF way. The plot makes no sense at all, yet we are pulled along by the peril of the people (for certain values of “human”) involved.

By the way, this novel was not too long. It was interesting all the way to the end.

Let’s keep this short and to the point: I expected great stuff and I wasn’t disappointed. Get it. Read it. Read everything you can get by Christopher Moore.


 

  1. Christopher Moore, Secondhand Souls, New York, HarperCollins, 2015.

 

 

Sunday Book Reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review: “Secondhand Souls” by Christopher Moore”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s