Book Review: “Fan Fiction” by Brent Spiner

Fan Fiction by Brent Spiner

This is what he calls “Mem-Noir”, biographical fiction.  In fact, autobiographical fiction, set mostly in the days when Spiner was acting in Star Trek Next Generation.

Like everyone, I know Spiner from Star Trek.  I’m not the kind of fan who is deeply interested in the life stories of actors, or the backstage stories of productions.  So, I can’t tell you how much of this story is fact, or how much is new. Nor do I care.

What I can tell you is that Spiner can roll out a long, shaggy dog story, filled with humor of many kinds. And it’s pretty positive and light stuff, unlike real Hollywood or some fictional versions.

I have to say that you probably have to be at least a low grade Star Trek fan to enjoy this story. At bottom, it’s a really silly story.  But who cares, because it’s about the making of ST-NG.


  1. Brent Spiner, Fan Fiction: A Mem-Noir Inspired by True Events, New York, St. Martin’s Press, 2021.

Sunday Book Reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Fan Fiction” by Brent Spiner”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.